Coupon

3 Jun

Never get between a parent and his/her diapers coupons.Shopping Cart

There was no line at the automated cashier  at the supermarket. Yes, we needed the milk, butter, and other items in the somewhat full cart, but we stopped at the store because of a  $3 diaper coupon that was about to expire. We didn’t have much time, It was nap time for the kids and I had an important phone call to make.

“This is not a coupon sir, it’s an advertisement” said the lanky guy who helps when you hit the “Get help/ Cancel an item” button. “There is no barcode”. “I don’t care, it is saying, $3 off”. “That’s on your next purchase”. But this is my next purchase, that’s how I got the coupon”. “Sorry sir, there is no barcode”. “Listen buddy, you either give me the $3, or get your manager right now”. “No problem sir”. A very young looking, Hobbit sized girl shows up. “Sir, this is clearly not a coupon, there is no barcode, you will get the coupon with your next purchase, that is,hmm, this one”. Now I was really getting pissed off, this shouldn’t be so complicated. The third “supervisor” was wearing the same uniform as the first two, and was trying to explain to the idiot customer the same thing using almost the same words. By then, I missed the important call, the kids (who were very patient) were past their nap time, but all of that did not matter. I would easily buy coffee for everyone at work without a second thought, but you must have a death wish if you fuck with my diaper coupons. If to paraphrase on This, I’m getting my $3!

Then the Hobbit came back with the news that his highness, the store manager decided to grant us our wish and “just this time” give us a $3 discount. We won the battle.

But not the war. Because as I was paying, the coupon printer started working and a $3 voucher, with a barcode came out. and the lanky guy saw, and I saw that he saw, and he saw that I saw that he saw. And he was hiding a smile.

7 Responses to “Coupon”

  1. pamasaurus June 3, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    As someone that has worked retail, mostly at the customer service desk, I must say that you fall into the ‘asshole customer’ category. I’d probably be bitching about you for daaaaaays (which would including laughing with my coworkers about the situation).

    It’s really weird hearing the story from *the other side* though! Congrats on annoying them enough that they caved 😉

  2. Movie Betty June 6, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    “Never get between a parent and his/her diapers coupons.”

    Maybe when it’s for our kids do we get so upset over not being able to use our coupons. I remember trying to use a coupon on ‘all Legos’, but I was trying to buy Duplo which is a Lego product but apparently not close enough. I had a case of the ass over that one. lol

  3. SzaboInSlowMo June 6, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Diaper coupons are worth fighting for, haha.

    And by the way, I’ve just nominated you and your blog for the Sunshine Blogger Award. If you choose not to participate, I’ll completely understand, but I hope you will. Details are on my last blog post. Have a great day!

  4. everyday dada June 6, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Wow. really nice and funny blog you get here. 🙂

  5. Rebecca Koo June 7, 2012 at 12:30 am #

    Awesome! Parents buying diapers get extra grace to be crazy from time to time….:)

  6. LookingfortheSweetSpot June 7, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Darn!! I hate when that happens! But hey, it was high stakes – diaper coupon and all. So funny!

  7. Tilly Bud June 8, 2012 at 5:47 am #

    Ouch! But you get to save twice 🙂

Leave a Reply

